Social Media

My Idea of Social Media

vintage-social-networking

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Reality

I find myself in need of several social media platforms.  I don’t like the idea.  I don’t like social media.  But if I am going to publish a book, I’m told I need social media.  Well, not to get it published.  To get it sold to hundreds of thousands of millions of people who are eagerly awaiting its release.

So, being technologically disadvantaged, I decided to take a four week social media class at the community college.  It’s not really a college class.  It’s a community interest class.  And it’s not really four weeks either.  It’s four Thursday evenings.  For an hour and a half.  But WTH, six hours of my time to learn about five social media platforms.  I figure if I can learn all that, it’s worth it.

I am supposed to be able to learn Facebook, Twitter, Linked In, Pinterest, and Tumbler.  I actually have accounts on all those sites.  I just don’t know how to use any of them except Facebook.  I can log into Tumbler, but can’t go anywhere after that.  I love looking at all the pictures on Pinterest, but can’t figure out how to set up a board so I can post my own pictures.  A friend’s nine year old tells me she posts regularly to her Pinterest boards.  Really?

I told the kid across the street that I was taking this class and what I hoped to learn.  She said, “I could show you how to use all those sites.”

I said, “So I should have given you the $30.00 and been taught all this in the comfort of my own den?”

She said, “I would have done it for $25.00.”

She’s thirteen.  Sheesh.

So, I’ve gotten one class behind me and the next one is tonight.  Up until last week I could pretty much only read what my friends sent me on Facebook and make a comment.  Now I know how to post to my own timeline and how to share.  I thought I had learned to share in kindergarten, but that was my toys and maybe half my graham cracker.  Now I can share what someone sends me with all 23 of my friends.  I had 24 friends, but one person recently unfriended me.  She got mad at a relative and unfriended everyone he was related to.  I need to figure out how to get more friends.  www.facebook.com/katie.morningstar.71  Go there and friend me.  Please. 

facebook joke

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not really.  But I follow so many other Facebook pages that it usually takes me forty five minutes to an hour, twice a day, to go through all the new posts to my Facebook page.  I’ll share some of my favorites with you so you too can follow them and spend half your day liking all the posts.

 

My very favorite is Michael Stokes Photography  www.facebook.com/MichaelStokesPhotography He also has a web site, and posts on Tumbler and Twitter – where he can post the more risqué photos not allowed on Facebook.  Check him out.  He takes stunning photos like this one…

Adam Von Rothfelder

 

 

 

 

 

Adam Von Rothfelder

 

 

And this one…Don’t know who this is but go here to see the full shot… https://twitter.com/Stokes_Photo/status/434014177909149697

Stokes - 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And then there is his new book    http://www.amazon.com/Masculinity-Michael-Stokes/dp/386787428X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1392488055&sr=8-1&keywords=michael+stokes masculinity

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And who doesn’t love a man in uniform… man in uniform

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some of my other favorite sites are the Fifty Shades of Sexy sites.  Just type in Fifty Shades of Sexy and the whole list will come up. There’s FSOS Hot, Hunky, Heroes, FSOS Certified County Boys, FSOS Bad Boys, FSOS Hot & Sexy, FSOS Hot Cowboys, Alpha Males, Cougar Bait.  Yeah you get it.  Where did you think I found all the hunkalicious pictures I post here.

 

And then there’s Eye Candy’s Sexy Confections www.facebook.com/eyecandyofficialpage With the Uber Sexy (yeah I learned a new word too) Colin Wayne as their cover photo… Colin Wayne - 2

 

 

That’s enough for today. OK People.

 

My stats are way down from 10 days ago when they skyrocketed.  What’s up with that?  So if you liked this post…well click the like button.  Better yet follow my blog.  And don’t forget to friend me on Facebook.  www.facebook.com/katie.morningstar.71

4 thoughts on “Social Media

  1. I really liked this more writingish post from you (personal stuff) but I still scrolled down with hope and of course, you didn’t disappoint with the visuals…lol. I cracked up picturing you breaking a graham cracker in half and it not breaking along the seam evenly and so the kid grabbed the larger piece. And then you never shared again. Ha. I just rewrote your childhood! Gonna find you on FB now. Good luck with the social media stuff – – it’s so crazy! I just want to “stumble” and “tumble” and CRASH!
    Stephanie

  2. Dear Katie,

    I was faced with the same problems you were. The picture at the top of your blog was totally me. I didn’t even know there were courses on social media. I could not take any course, I had to find out myself and no neighbour to help me if I had wanted to.
    When I started using Facebook on 01-01-2014 I had no idea how to make friends. After about two or three weeks I only had 12 odd friends. Now, after 2 months I have 75 Facebook friends (special thanks to little miss menopause) and friends, to some extend, are just like money. You can create friends with friends.
    If you haven’t already done so, you might want to try to get into chatgroups. A lot of people go into chatgroups not to chat, but to make friends. That is what I did and it really helped me a lot.
    I hope to be reading more of you. I read your blog on erotica, but I didn’t dare to respond. I am still blushing.

    Kind regards,

    Arthur

Leave a Reply

